

BEREC CHAIR AND VICE CHAIRS 2011

Mr. Chris Fonteijn, chair of OPTA, the Dutch regulator will formally assume the position of Chair of the Board of European Regulators of Electronic Communications (BEREC) for 2011 in succession to Mr. John Doherty, of ComReg, the Irish regulator. Mr. Doherty and Mr. Fonteijn had been elected to their respective positions at the inaugural meeting of BEREC held at Brussels in January 2010.

At the 5th meeting of the BEREC, held in Bruges on the 2nd and 3rd of December 2010, Dr. Georg Serentschy, CEO Telecom and Postal of RTR, the Austrian regulator, was elected as vice-chair 2011 and chair for 2012. Two additional vice-chairs were elected for 2011. These are Dr. Leonidas Kanellos, President of EETT, the Greek regulator and Mr. Ladislav Mikus, Chair of TUSR, the regulator for the Slovak Republic.

BRUGES, DECEMBER 3RD, 2010.

END.

NOTES FOR EDITORS

The Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications (BEREC) and the Office were established by the Regulation (EC) No. 1211/2009 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 25 November 2009. BEREC is comprised of a Board of Regulators consisting of Heads of 27 national regulatory authorities (NRAs). The EU Commission, EFTA States (Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein and three EU candidate States (Turkey, Croatia and the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia) participate as observers to the Board of Regulators. The roles and tasks of BEREC are set out in articles 2 and 3 of the Regulation. The Office is a Community Body established by the same Regulation in order to provide professional and administrative support to BEREC.

For more information please contact:

berec @ec.europa.eu Tel +32 (0) 2 29 87380 – Website http://berec.europa.eu irg @irg.eu Tel +32 (0) 2 210 60 70 - Website www.irg.eu