Tonko Obuljen is elected BEREC Chair for 2024

06 October 2022

The BEREC Chair for 2024 is Tonko Obuljen, Chair of the Council at the Croatian Regulatory Authority for Network Industries (HAKOM), who was elected by the BEREC Board of Regulators on 6 October 2022.

Tonko Obuljen has served as Chair of the HAKOM Council since 2018. He was a member of the Information Society working group during the negotiations on the accession of the Republic of Croatia to the European Union (2005-2013). In 2002 and 2008, he was also a member of the drafting team for the Electronic Communications Acts and associated bylaws. Previously, he participated in developing the Croatian state aid programmes for backhaul and access networks. In 2020, Tonko Obuljen also served as a BEREC Vice-Chair.

After the vote, the newly elected BEREC Chair for 2024 Tonko Obuljen said:

Living in a digital era, in a time that is constantly changing and reshaping, it is an honour to be a part of the community that skilfully tailors and facilitates this challenging transition.’

BEREC Vice-Chairs and the Mini-Board

Next year, Tonko Obuljen will serve as a Vice-Chair and as incoming BEREC Chair 2024. The other Vice-Chairs who were elected are Hana Továrková (CTU, Czech Republic) and Robert Mourik (ComReg, Ireland). Branko Kovijanić (EKIP, Montenegro) was elected as the representative of participants without voting rights. Together with outgoing BEREC Chair Annemarie Sipkes (ACM, the Netherlands), they will compose the BEREC MiniBoard for 2023 and will support Kostas Masselos (EETT, Greece), who is the BEREC Chair 2023.

Appointment procedure

The Board of Regulators elects its Chair and Vice-Chairs from among its members. The term of office of the Chair and the Vice-Chairs is one year. Before serving her/his term as a Chair for one year, the Chair first has to serve one year as a Vice-Chair. To ensure the continuity of BEREC’s work, the Chair must serve as a Vice-Chair for the year following her/his term as Chair. Every year, the Vice-Chairs are appointed for the following year, and the Chair is appointed for the year thereafter.